Edmonton Cemetery: Emily Jane and Richard Taylor

Screenshot 2014-10-20 01.39.37I found out that the grave of Emily Jane (née Boulden) and her husband Richard Taylor is located at Edmonton Cemetery almost a year ago, but I hadn’t managed to plan a visit as it’s not a part of London that I’m around very often.

On the 15th September, a day which turned out to be one of the last warm sunny days of this year, I set off on my bicycle for a 60-mile cycle ride to Edmonton Cemetery and back. I rode through the Olympic Park for the first time and up the canal tow path which takes you all the way to Tottenham, the town where the Taylor and Chase family seem to have had a strong connection with for many years.

I received an email from a third cousin who gave me the plot number for the grave, so this time – thankfully – I didn’t have to do any searching through burial records to find such information, just a pleasant walk through the cemetery to find the plot.

Edmonton Cemetery opened in 1884 and is a large cemetery run by the local authority, Enfield Council. It’s well kept and the flower gardens at the main entrance are lovely and picturesque. Records for the cemetery can be searched at Enfield Crematorium but according to the council’s website, there is a fee – even if you want to perform the search yourself.

Emily Jane (née Boulden) and Richard Taylor grave at Edmonton Cemetery

The gravestone is partially covered by soil and grass so I thought it best not to disturb much of the grass growing over it, as it’s probably doing a good job preserving it.

What I could read from the gravestone says the following:

In Loving Memory of Richard Taylor, born 30th June 1849 died 7th April 1922

Of Emily Jane, his wife, born 22nd May.. [the rest is covered by grass]

IMG_7552

IMG_7554

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jana Last
    Jan 09, 2015 @ 21:15:18

    Hi,

    I want to let you know that your blog is listed in today’s Fab Finds post at http://janasgenealogyandfamilyhistory.blogspot.com/2015/01/follow-friday-fab-finds-for-january-9.html

    Have a great weekend!

    Reply

Leave a comment

  • 43,277 site views

Please contact me if you would like to use any images or text from this website elsewhere.