Back in time for the summer!

After a longer than expected break from researching and updating my website, I’m finally able to report that I’m back! I moved into a new flat in central London at the beginning of the year and it’s been pretty difficult getting myself adjusted, but fingers crossed that here on in everything will go well. An interest like genealogy demands several hours at a time for me to get anything useful done, as it takes a minimum of an hour just for me to work out what I need to do and have everything prepared!

The last time I had an hour or two to myself, I got as far as spreading some letters and documents over the dining table to be arranged, and in no time I found myself getting absorbed into a series of letters and notes, and by the time I was ready to start, I had to pack it all up again! I have so many new things to post and update that it’s difficult and perplexing to work out where to start. Sometimes I find myself doing nothing but planning what to do and not actually doing any of it.

The first bit of good news is that living in Westminster, I’m right in the centre of London and close to all the archives, churches, libraries and cemeteries that I should visit, so hopefully more research trips this summer. More good news is that as just a couple of months on the internet goes by, websites such as Ancestry and FamilySearch gain half a dozen new records, such as parish registers for additional English counties and more Electoral records – Surrey parish registers are the latest to be digitised on Ancestry and I’ll probably be spending several hours searching through these as Surrey’s collection contains the London boroughs of Croydon, Sutton, Merton, Kingston upon Thames and much of Richmond upon Thames in south and south west London.

I have more than 150 postcards sent from the Western Front during the First World War that I plan to put online over the coming months, along with newspaper clippings, records and certificates, old maps, obitiuaries and hundreds of family photographs to bring my website to life.

So here marks the start of a lot of hard work. I’ll be writing and researching again until my brain aches. I’ll be uploading many more photos and records to the website and posting as much as I can in the hope that somebody will enjoy reading it and maybe find out a thing or two about their past, too!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Peter Russell
    Jun 14, 2013 @ 08:28:42

    Hello Miles, good to hear from you, yes the Surrey records have been good to check out the Watts, Stone and Oakeley families, although as yet I have not really got anything new as such. The Oakeley family it appears came from Orsett in Essex (1740’s) and as I was in the area over the weekend I did take pictures of the parish church, let me have your email addres if you are interested in copies, regards Peter Russell.

    Reply

  2. Mary Beatrix Wood
    Jun 14, 2013 @ 08:49:40

    Hi Miles, glad to know your back on the case!! It was lovely to receive letters from your Gran, although I have only had time to reply to one, please tell her I will get around to it. Hope to read more info on the family as you uncover it!!
    Kind regards
    Mary

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • 23,858 site views

Please contact me if you would like to use any images or text from this website elsewhere.